Proposed Regulatory Framework For Nanomaterials Under The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

September 10, 2007

ENVIRONMENT CANADA         HEALTH CANADA

TABLE OF CONTENTS


INTRODUCTION

Environment Canada and Health Canada have developed a proposal for a regulatory framework for nanomaterials under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Under the provisions of this legislation, the Ministers of the Environment and Health are required to conduct environmental and human health risk assessments and manage appropriately any risks arising from industrial chemical substances entering the Canadian market. Stakeholders from industry, non-governmental organizations, and other interested parties are invited to provide feedback on the proposed approach to developing a regulatory framework as well as to consider the options for gathering information on industrial nanomaterials as a part of the first phase.

Nanotechnology is a rapidly emerging field described generally as the control and structuring of matter at dimensions typically between 1 and 100 nanometres to create materials, devices, and systems with fundamentally new properties and functions. Nanoscale chemical substances, or nanomaterials, behave differently from their macroscale counterparts, exhibiting different mechanical, optical, magnetic, and electronic properties. As a result of such novel properties, nanomaterials are anticipated to have applications addressing a wide range of issues including health and the environment. The novel properties of nanomaterials, however, may also give rise to new exposures and effects which need to be assessed for their potential impacts on human health and the environment. It is incumbent on Environment Canada and Health Canada to develop a regulatory framework under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 which enables the responsible introduction of nanomaterials to Canada through the scientific assessment and appropriate management of the potential risks.

The proposal for the development of a responsible regulatory framework under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 consists of two phases as international and domestic activities progress. Canada is involved with the activities of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development and the International Organization for Standardization. The federal Science & Technology community is coordinating efforts within the government of Canada to address regulatory science issues. These activities will inform the development of a regulatory framework in a progressive manner which builds a foundation of knowledge through collaboration with industry and the public.

This document provides background information on nanomaterials and the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 as well as information on the proposal for developing an effective regulatory framework for nanomaterials. The following sections contain:

  • A brief overview of the science and impacts of nanomaterials;
  • The role of the New Substances Program in conducting risk assessments;
  • The proposed approach for a regulatory framework for nanomaterials under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999;
  • Options for information gathering initiatives; and
  • Path forward for Government and stakeholders.

See more...

Proposition de cadre réglementaire pour les nanomatériaux en vertu de la loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Le 10 septembre 2007

Environnement Canada      Santé Canada

TABLE DES MATIÈRES


INTRODUCTION

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont formulé une proposition de cadre réglementaire pour les nanomatériaux en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Selon les dispositions de cette loi, les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé sont tenus de procéder à des évaluations des risques pour l'environnement et la santé humaine et de gérer de manière appropriée tout risque découlant de l'entrée de substances chimiques industrielles sur le marché canadien. Des intervenants de l'industrie, des organisations non gouvernementales et d'autres intéressés sont invités à communiquer leurs observations sur la démarche proposée pour l'élaboration d'un cadre réglementaire, ainsi qu'à réfléchir aux solutions pour recueillir des renseignements sur les nanomatériaux industriels dans le cadre de la première phase.

La nanotechnologie est un domaine en évolution rapide, généralement décrit comme étant la manipulation et la structuration de la matière à des dimensions typiques entre 1 et 100 nanomètres afin de créer des matériaux, appareils et systèmes ayant des propriétés et des fonctions fondamentalement nouvelles. Les substances chimiques à l'échelle nanométrique, ou nanomatériaux, ont un comportement différent de celui de leurs homologues de l'échelle macrométrique et affichent des propriétés mécaniques, optiques, magnétiques et électroniques différentes. Grâce à ces propriétés si novatrices, l'on s'attend à ce que les nanomatériaux aient des applications réglant un large éventail d'enjeux, y compris ceux liés à la santé et à l'environnement. Ces mêmes propriétés pourraient aussi, toutefois, être la source de nouvelles expositions et d'effets qu'il faut établir pour déterminer leur incidence potentielle sur la santé humaine et l'environnement. C'est à Environnement Canada et Santé Canada qu'il incombe de concevoir un cadre réglementaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) qui permettra une introduction responsable des nanomatériaux au Canada, au moyen d'une évaluation scientifique et d'une gestion appropriée des risques potentiels.

La proposition visant l'élaboration d'un cadre réglementaire responsable en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) consiste en deux phases contribuant aux progrès dans les activités internationales et nationales. Le Canada participe aux activités de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et de l'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO). La communauté fédérale des sciences et de la technologie coordonne ses efforts au sein du gouvernement du Canada (GC) pour régler les questions réglementaires liées à la science. Ces activités inspireront la conception du cadre réglementaire d'une manière progressive qui constituera le fondement de connaissances, grâce à la collaboration avec l'industrie et le public.

Le présent document comporte des renseignements de base sur les nanomatériaux, sur la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) ainsi que sur la proposition visant la conception d'un cadre réglementaire efficace pour les nanomatériaux. Dans les prochaines sections on trouvera les détails suivants :

  • Un bref survol de la science des nanomatériaux et de leurs répercussions;
  • Le rôle du Programme des substances nouvelles dans la conduite des évaluations des risques;
  • La démarche proposée à l'égard d'un cadre réglementaire pour les nanomatériaux en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999);
  • Les solutions d'initiatives de collecte de données;
  • La voie à suivre pour le gouvernement et les intervenants.

Voir plus...