Skip booklet index and go to page content

Risk Assessment/Management

Development of Common Approaches to the Risk Assessment of Nanomaterials

Nanoparticle Human Health Screening Assessment Framework

Following the analysis and discussions that occurred during the case study/comparative analysis exercises, a common approach for assessing and identifying additional testing requirements for nanoparticles was developed by the two countries, based on current knowledge of particle toxicology. This common framework is summarized here, and represents an effort to systematically focus human health concerns and additional testing requirements for nanoparticles based on physical-chemical characteristics (e.g., particle shape, aspect ratio, particle/fibre size, solubility, composition and surface chemistry).  (Refer to Appendix F for a more detailed discussion.)

The manipulation of matter at the nano-scale is creating many novel substances with characteristics which are not always easily predicted from current knowledge. For example, a substance with a fixed composition can be engineered into many different forms (e.g., spheres, fibres, or sheets) with varying physical characteristics (e.g., size, shape, and surface properties).  Though these different forms possess identical composition, the effects of changing the physical-chemical parameters may alter the substance’s behaviour in environmental and biological media. The near-limitless diversity of substances that can be engineered from one particular composition can also have a near-limitless spectrum of toxicity: some particles may confer health benefits, others may be harmless, some become toxic, and some may retain the toxicity profile of the original bulk counterpart. 

Nanoparticles come in all sorts of sizes, shapes, and composition. Currently, nanoparticles are identified by name and by their Chemical Abstract Services Registry Number (CASRN), which are nomenclature methods primarily based on composition. One name and/or CASRN may represent a wide array of substances with the same composition. For example, a material of one composition will have a size distribution that can vary depending on manufacture and processing methods, and, can exhibit varied crystal structure, shape, surface chemistry, aggregation/agglomeration and other characteristics.

Particle toxicology is different from molecular toxicology in that the physical characteristics of the particles are most often the primary drivers of toxicity rather than their composition alone. Consequently, different paradigms are required in nanoparticle risk assessment than in molecular risk assessment.

Traditionally, classification of particles has been conducted on the basis of size based on the principle that as particle size decreases, the greater the potential impact on human health because the particles can be more easily inhaled[1]. Additionally, numerous reports exist in published literature showing that the toxicity of particles (on a mass basis) generally increases as their size decreases. The terms nanoparticles (NPs) and ultrafine particles (UFP) describe particles in the same size range (less than 100 nm), but nanoparticles usually refer to manufactured/engineered materials while ultrafine particles are defined as naturally occurring or those arising in ambient air (Donaldson et al. 2013)[2].

 

Figure 1: Important characteristics affecting particle toxicology (from Hristozov et al. 2012)

Characteristics affecting particle toxicology.

It has been demonstrated in literature that changes in a particle’s physical characteristics (e.g., size, shape, aspect ratio, surface area, surface coatings, chemical composition, impurities and crystalline structure) will influence the particle’s environmental fate (Klaine et al. 2008)[3] and toxicological properties (Figure 1; ENMs- Engineered Nanomaterials)[4]. The surface chemistry parameters of a nanomaterial (e.g., composition, coatings, charge, placement of ligands and wettability) affect cellular fate, uptake, and interactions with ions and various biomolecules (Zhu et al. 2013)[5]. The relationship between a particle’s physical characteristics and toxicity has been further emphasized in a mini-review by Warheit (2013)[6] that describes measuring hazard/risks following exposures to nanoscale or pigment-grade titanium dioxide particles:

It is important to note that particle-types of different TiO2 compositions may have variable toxicity potencies, depending upon crystal structure, particle size, particle surface characteristics and surface coatings.

The magnitude and specificity of this influence on the toxicokinetics and environmental fate of a manufactured nanoparticle are currently impossible to predict in the absence of particle-specific test data - a viewpoint that is highlighted in a paper by Ma-Hock et al. (2013)[7] which investigates the comparative inhalation toxicity of multi-wall carbon nanotubes, graphene, graphite nanoplatelets and low surface carbon black. Nevertheless, currently existing particle toxicology paradigms are being applied in an effort to focus human health hazard concerns for nanoparticles (Donaldson & Poland 2012)[8].

This document summarizes a proposed approach to systematically focus human health concerns and additional testing requirements for nanoparticles based on their physical characteristics, including size, particle shape, aspect ratio, composition and surface chemistry.  

The schematic presented in Figure 2 assumes that the nanoparticle is novel and that this approach will be applied prior to conducting or requesting toxicity testing.

As scientific knowledge evolves and mechanisms of action are better understood, existing toxicity information could be used to further identify concerns and/or additional relevant nanoparticle-specific toxicity testing. For example, available information on nanoparticles with similar physical characteristics and composition could be used as analogue/read-across information.  Depending on the nanoparticle in question, various physical and chemical characteristics will need to be considered in order to make direct or indirect correlations between relevant data sets, especially for nanoparticles where significant uncertainty exists in regards to the degree of influence slight changes in physical and chemical characteristics may exert in determining toxicity.

For example, following the framework described in Figure 2, the testing strategies for “Insoluble Biopersistent” nanoparticles should also consider their surface characteristics/reactivity/composition, so that different testing would be required for those nanoparticles that, based on available information, are expected to display “low reactivity/toxicity” and those that are expected to display some inherent toxicity.

Using the approach outlined herein should lead to more focused toxicological testing and a more tailored risk assessment of new nanomaterials.

Figure 2: Schematic for focusing concerns and additional testing requirement for novel nanoparticles

Diagram showing testing requirements for novel nanoparticles

 

Common Outlook on the Environmental Fate and Ecological Effects of Nanomaterials

In general, an ecological risk assessment takes into account the fate and effects of a substance in air, water, soil, and sediment compartments. As well, the behaviour of the substance in wastewater treatment plants is also considered as this has an impact on environmental fate. This approach is depicted in Figure 3 below.

Figure 3: A general framework for ecological risk assessment[1]

A general framework for ecological risk assessment

There remain many uncertainties in accurately determining the environmental fate and ecological effects of nanomaterials.  Traditionally, chemicals (typically organics) undergo partitioning between water, sediment, soil and air depending on their physical-chemical parameters (See section 3.2). Nanomaterials are, however, more complex than traditional chemicals. As seen in Figure 3, nanomaterials can undergo a variety of transformations once in the environment including (bio)degradation, dissolution, hetero- and homo-aggregation, and speciation. It is currently not always possible to predict these processes and to then properly quantify the environmental fate and effects, however, which makes risk evaluation challenging.

During discussions within the RCC context, these uncertainties were primarily attributed to the fact that this is an emerging science, and that the application of chemically-based regulatory regimes to nanomaterials is challenged by the fact that nanomaterials have modifying factors such as size, shape, and reactivity.     

As was highlighted from the joint case-study analysis on MWCNTs, in the face of uncertainty the Canada/US Programs use similar approaches and safety factors to assess the environmental fate and ecological effects of nanomaterials. 

While the outcomes in Section 3.2 summarize the major findings arising from the case-study and the current thinking of the Canada/US Programs, some common assumptions in dealing with environmental fate and ecological effects are presented below; these will be refined as better scientific information becomes available. Common approaches to physical-chemical endpoints and characterization techniques for environmental fate and effects are not proposed since these depend on the type of material being tested, the media, and measurement needs, and are captured under the nano-specific OECD Guidance on Sample Preparation and Dosimetry.

Environmental Fate:

  • Due to the uncertainties associated with predicting partitioning behaviour of nanomaterials, the Canada/US Programs will continue to assume that they may end up in all compartments: water, soil, sediment, and air.
  • The potential for long-range transport of is expected to be low; however, vectorization (i.e., nanoparticles binding to other particulates and undergoing transport) is still considered possible. 
  • The Log octanol-water partitioning (Log Kow) coefficient is not a useful predictor for bioconcentration/ bioaccumulation.
  • While agreeing that the concentration of nanomaterials in the environment is important, the Canada/US Programs will be considering the bioavailable fractions of these substances in the environment. These take into account interactions with environmental media, such as humic/fulvic acids.
  • Environmental exposure will consider two worst-case scenarios:  100% release to the aquatic compartment from wastewater treatment (i.e., no removal from treatment) and 100% release to biosolids (i.e., 100% removal from treatment). These two extremes will allow for the development of conservative scenarios to calculate predicted environmental concentrations.

Ecological toxicity:

  • Physical-chemical characterization is critical for adequately assessing the ecotoxicity of nanomaterials. The Canada/US Programs will continue to require this information, including separation of the ionic and particulate species.[2]
  • The OECD Test Guidelines will continue to be considered adequate for nanomaterials; the OECD is currently considering appropriate modifications to address specific properties of nanomaterials.[3]
  • Due to the lack of predictability for bioconcentration (log octanol-water (Log Kow)), the OECD test guideline on bioconcentration (TG 305) may apply to nanomaterials, but only when conducted through the dietary route.
  • In addition to traditional safety/uncertainty factors when extrapolating from acute to chronic environmental effects, additional factors will be used when appropriate to take into account the interaction with organic matter.
  • Both Programs will use the OECD nano-specific Guidance on Sample Preparation and Dosimetry[4] to help identify appropriate methods and measurement techniques for the testing of nanomaterials.



[1] Batley, G.E., Kirby, J.K., McLaughlin, M.J., Acc. Chem. Res, 2013, 46 (3), 854-862

[2] Meesters, J. A.J., Veltman, K., Hendriks, A.J., van de Meent, D. Integr Environ Assess Manag, 2013, 9, e15-e26

[4] ENV/JM/MONO(2012)40. Guidance on Sample Preparation and Dosimetry for the Safety Testing of Manufactured Nanomaterials. Series on the Safety of Manufactured Nanomaterials No. 36.



[1] http://www.epa.gov/airscience/air-particulatematter.htm

[2] Donaldson K, Duffin R, Langrish JP, Miller MR, Mills NL, Poland CA, Raftis J, Shah A, Shaw CA, Newby DE. 2013. Nanoparticles and the cardiovascular system: a critical review. Nanomedicine 8(3): 403-423

[3] Klaine SJ, Alvarez PJJ, Batley GE, Fernandes TF, Handy RD, Lyon DY, Mahendra S, McLaughlin MJ, Lead JR. 2008. Nanomaterials in the environment: behavior, fate, bioavailability, and effects. Environ Toxicol Chem  27(9):1825-1851

[4] Hristozov DR, Gottardo S, Critto A, Marcomini A. 2012. Risk assessment of engineered nanomaterials: a review of available data and approaches from a regulatory perspective. Nanotoxicology 6(8):880-898

[5]  Zhu M, Nie G, Meng H, Xia T, Nel A, Zhao Y. 2013. Physicochemical properties determine nanomaterial cellular uptake, transport, and fate.  Accounts of Chemical Research 46 (3):622-631

[6] Warheit DB. 2013. How to measure hazards/risks following exposures to nanoscale or pigment-grade titanium dioxide particles.  Toxicol Lett  220(2):193-204

[7] Ma-Hock L, Strauss V, Treumann S, Küttler K, Wohlleben W, Hofmann T, Gröters S, Wiench K, van Ravenzwaay B, Landsiedel R. 2013. Comparative inhalation toxicity of multi-wall carbon nanotubes, graphene, graphite nanoplatelets and low surface carbon black. Part Fibre Toxicol 10(1):23

[8] Donaldson K, Poland CA. 2012. Inhaled nanoparticles and lung cancer - what we can learn from conventional particle toxicology. Swiss Med Wkly 142: 13547

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et gestion des risques

Élaboration d’approches communes pour l’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux

Cadre d’évaluation préalable des nanoparticules pour la santé humaine

À la suite des analyses et des discussions qui ont eu lieu au cours des exercices d’études de cas et d’analyses comparatives, une approche commune pour évaluer et déterminer les exigences supplémentaires en matière d’essais sur les nanoparticules a été élaborée par les deux pays en se fondant sur les connaissances actuelles sur la toxicologie des particules. Ce cadre commun est résumé ici et représente un effort pour systématiquement mettre l’accent sur les préoccupations pour la santé humaine et sur les exigences supplémentaires en matière d’essais sur les nanoparticules selon les caractéristiques physico‑chimiques (p. ex., la forme des particules, le rapport hauteur-largeur, la taille de la particule ou de la fibre, la solubilité, la composition et la chimie de surface) [voir l’annexe F pour une discussion plus détaillée].

La manipulation de matière à l’échelle nanométrique crée de nombreuses substances nouvelles dont les caractéristiques ne sont pas toujours faciles à prévoir avec les connaissances actuelles. Par exemple, une substance de composition fixe peut être fabriquée sous de nombreuses formes différentes (p. ex., en sphères, en fibres ou en feuilles) avec des caractéristiques physiques variables (p. ex., la taille, la forme et les propriétés de surface). Bien que ces différentes formes possèdent une composition identique, la modification des paramètres physico-chimiques peut avoir pour effet d’altérer le comportement de la substance dans les milieux naturels et biologiques. La diversité quasi sans limites des substances qui peuvent être fabriquées à partir d’une seule et même composition peut aussi présenter un spectre quasi illimité de toxicité : certaines particules peuvent offrir des bienfaits pour la santé, d’autres pourraient être sans danger, certaines deviennent toxiques et d’autres peuvent conserver le profil de toxicité de la substance d’origine non nanométrique. 

Les nanoparticules présentent une grande variété de tailles, de formes et de composition. Actuellement, les nanoparticules sont identifiées par leur nom et par leur numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (no CAS) lesquels sont des méthodes de nomenclature principalement fondées sur la composition. Un nom ou un no CAS peut représenter un large éventail de substances de même composition. Par exemple, un matériau d’une composition donnée aura une distribution de tailles qui peut varier selon les méthodes de fabrication et de traitement et il peut présenter une variété de structures cristallines, de formes, de chimie de surface, d’agrégation ou d’agglomération et d’autres caractéristiques.

La toxicologie des particules est différente de la toxicologie moléculaire, puisque les caractéristiques physiques des particules sont le plus souvent les principaux facteurs de la toxicité plutôt que leur seule composition. Par conséquent, des paradigmes différents sont nécessaires pour l’évaluation des risques des nanoparticules que ceux utilisés pour l’évaluation des risques des molécules.

Traditionnellement, la classification des particules a été effectuée en fonction de la taille selon le principe que plus la taille des particules diminue, plus le potentiel d’avoir des effets sur la santé humaine est élevé, car les particules peuvent être plus facilement inhalées[1]. De plus, il existe de nombreux rapports dans la documentation publiée montrant que la toxicité des particules (en fonction de la masse) augmente généralement avec la diminution de leur taille. Les termes nanoparticules et particules ultrafines décrivent des particules se situant dans la même gamme de taille (moins de 100 nm); toutefois, le terme nanoparticules désigne habituellement des matériaux fabriqués ou d’ingénierie alors que les particules ultrafines sont définies comme des particules naturellement présentes ou survenant dans l’air ambiant (Donaldson et al., 2013)[2].

 

Figure 1 : Caractéristiques importantes influant sur la toxicologie des particules (tiré de Hristozov et al., 2012)

Caractéristique importantes influant la toxicologie des particules

Il a été démontré dans la documentation scientifique que des changements des caractéristiques physiques d’une particule (p. ex., la taille, la forme, le rapport hauteur-largeur, la surface, les revêtements de surface, la composition chimique, les impuretés et la structure cristalline) vont influer sur son devenir dans l’environnement (Klaine et al., 2008)[1] et sur ses propriétés toxicologiques (figure 1; NMI : nanomatériaux d’ingénierie)[2]. Les paramètres de la chimie de surface d’un nanomatériau (p. ex., la composition, les revêtements, la charge, la position des ligands et la mouillabilité) influent sur le devenir et l’absorption cellulaire et les interactions avec les ions et diverses biomolécules (Zhu et al., 2013)[3]. La relation entre les caractéristiques physiques d’une particule et la toxicité a été davantage mise en évidence dans une brève synthèse réalisée par Warheit (2013)[4] qui décrit comment sont mesurés les dangers et les risques résultant d’expositions aux particules de dioxyde de titane à l’échelle nanométrique ou sous forme de pigments.

 « Il est important de remarquer que les types de particule de différentes compositions de TiO2 pourraient avoir un potentiel de toxicité variable selon la structure cristalline, la taille de la particule, les caractéristiques de surface de la particule et les revêtements de surface. » [Traduction]

L’ampleur et la spécificité de cette influence sur la toxicocinétique et le devenir dans l’environnement d’une nanoparticule fabriquée sont impossibles à prévoir pour l’instant en l’absence de données d’essais propres aux particules. Il s’agit d’un point de vue qui est mis en évidence dans l’article de Ma-Hock et al. (2013)[5] qui étudie la toxicité comparative par inhalation de nanotubes de carbone multiparois, de graphènes, de nanoplaquettes de graphite et de noir de carbone à faible surface. Néanmoins, les paradigmes existants de la toxicologie des particules sont appliqués dans un effort de centrer l’attention sur les préoccupations relatives aux dangers pour la santé humaine des nanoparticules (Donaldson et Poland, 2012)[6].

Le présent document résume une approche proposée pour centrer l’attention de façon systématique sur les préoccupations en matière de santé humaine et sur les exigences additionnelles en matière d’essai sur les nanoparticules selon leurs caractéristiques physiques, dont la taille, la forme de la particule, le rapport hauteur-largeur, la composition et la chimie de surface. 

Le diagramme présenté à la figure 2 suppose que la nanoparticule est nouvelle et que cette approche sera appliquée avant de mener ou de demander des essais de toxicité.

Au fur et à mesure que les connaissances scientifiques évoluent et que les mécanismes d’action sont mieux compris, les données de toxicité existantes pourraient être utilisées pour mieux définir les préoccupations ou les essais de toxicité des nanoparticules supplémentaires qu’il serait pertinent de réaliser. Par exemple, les renseignements disponibles sur les nanoparticules possédant des caractéristiques physiques et une composition chimique similaires pourraient être utilisés comme données sur des analogues ou déduits à partir d’analogues. Selon la nanoparticule considérée, diverses caractéristiques physiques et chimiques devront être examinées afin d’établir des corrélations directes ou indirectes entre les ensembles de données pertinents, particulièrement dans le cas des nanoparticules où une incertitude importante existe quant au degré d’influence que de légers changements de caractéristiques physiques et chimiques peuvent avoir sur la toxicité.

Par exemple, en suivant le cadre décrit à la figure 2, les stratégies d’essais pour les nanoparticules « insolubles et biopersistantes » devraient aussi tenir compte de leurs caractéristiques de surface, de leur réactivité et de leur composition, de sorte que différents essais seraient requis pour les nanoparticules qui, selon les données disponibles, devraient montrer une « réactivité ou toxicité faible » et celles qui devraient montrer une certaine toxicité intrinsèque.

L’utilisation de l’approche décrite aux présentes devrait mener à des essais toxicologies plus ciblées et à une évaluation des risques plus adaptée aux nouveaux nanomatériaux.

Figure 2 : Diagramme pour cibler les préoccupations et les essais supplémentaires nécessaires pour les nanoparticules nouvelles

Essais supplémentaire nécessaire pour les nanoparticules

Une perspective commune sur le devenir dans l’environnement et les effets écologiques des nanomatériaux

En général, une évaluation des risques écologiques tient compte du devenir et des effets d’une substance dans l’air, l’eau, le sol et les sédiments. De plus, le comportement de la substance dans les stations d’épuration des eaux usées est aussi pris en considération puisque qu’il a un effet sur le devenir dans l’environnement. Cette approche est illustrée à la figure 3 ci-dessous.

Figure 3 : Cadre général pour l’évaluation des risques écologiques[1]

Cadre général pour des risques écologiques

Il reste encore de nombreuses incertitudes pour déterminer de manière précise le devenir dans l’environnement et les effets écologiques des nanomatériaux. Traditionnellement, les produits chimiques (habituellement des substances organiques) se répartissent entre l’eau, les sédiments, le sol et l’air en fonction de leurs paramètres physico-chimiques (voir la section 3.2). Les nanomatériaux sont toutefois plus complexes que les produits chimiques traditionnels. Comme l’illustre la figure 3, les nanomatériaux peuvent subir une diversité de transformations une fois qu’ils sont dans l’environnement, y compris la (bio)dégradation, la dissolution, l’agrégation hétérogène et homogène et la spéciation. À l’heure actuelle, il n’est pas toujours possible de prévoir ces processus, puis de bien quantifier le devenir et les effets dans l’environnement, ce qui rend l’évaluation des risques difficile.

Au cours des discussions tenues dans le contexte du Conseil, ces incertitudes ont été principalement attribuées au fait qu’il s’agit d’une science émergente et que l’application des régimes de réglementation visant les produits chimiques aux nanomatériaux est compliquée par le fait que les nanomatériaux ont des facteurs de modification tels que la taille, la forme et la réactivité.

Comme l’a mis en évidence l’analyse conjointe d’étude de cas sur les MWCNT, lorsqu’ils font face à des incertitudes, les Programmes Canada–États-Unis utilisent des approches similaires et des facteurs de sécurité pour évaluer le devenir dans l’environnement et les effets écologiques des nanomatériaux. 

Alors que les résultats de la section 3.2 résument les principales constatations découlant de l’étude de cas et de la pensée actuelle des Programmes Canada–États-Unis, certaines des hypothèses communes pour aborder le devenir dans l’environnement et les effets écologiques sont présentées ci‑dessous; celles-ci seront améliorées au fur et à mesure que de meilleurs renseignements scientifiques seront accessibles. Des approches communes pour les paramètres physico-chimiques et les techniques de caractérisation pour le devenir et les effets dans l’environnement ne sont pas proposées puisqu’elles dépendent du type de matériau mis à l’essai, du milieu et des mesures à effectuer, et elles sont traitées dans le Guide sur la préparation d’échantillons et la dosimétrie pour les nanomatériaux de l’OCDE.

Devenir dans l’environnement

  • En raison des incertitudes associées à la prévision du comportement de répartition des nanomatériaux, les Programmes Canada–États-Unis continueront à supposer que les nanomatériaux devraient se retrouver dans tous les milieux : eau, sol, sédiments et air.
  • Le potentiel de transport à grande distance des nanomatériaux devrait être faible; toutefois, la vectorisation (c.-à-d. les nanoparticules se liant à d’autres matières particulaires et étant transportées) est toujours considérée comme une possibilité. 
  • Le logarithme du coefficient de partage octanol-eau (log Koe) n’est pas une variable explicative utile de la bioconcentration et de la bioaccumulation.
  • Tout en acceptant que la concentration des nanomatériaux dans l’environnement est importante, les Programmes Canada–États-Unis vont examiner les fractions biodisponibles de ces substances dans l’environnement. Celles-ci tiennent compte des interactions avec des substrats naturels, comme les acides humiques et fulviques.
  • Les expositions de l’environnement vont tenir compte de deux scénarios de la pire éventualité : un rejet de 100 % dans le milieu aquatique provenant du traitement des eaux usées (c.-à-d. aucune élimination par le traitement) et un rejet de 100 % en biosolides (c.-à-d. un taux d’élimination de 100 % par le traitement). Ces deux extrêmes vont permettre d’élaborer des scénarios prudents pour calculer les concentrations environnementales estimées.

Toxicité pour l’environnement

  • La caractérisation physico-chimique est critique pour évaluer adéquatement l’écotoxicité des nanomatériaux. Les Programmes Canada–États-Unis continueront d’avoir besoin de ces renseignements, y compris la séparation des espèces ioniques et particulaires[1].
  • Les Lignes directrices de l’OCDE pour les essais continueront d’être considérées comme adéquates pour les nanomatériaux; l’OCDE envisage actuellement d’apporter les modifications appropriées pour tenir compte des propriétés des nanomatériaux[2].
  • En raison du manque de prévisibilité pour la bioconcentration [logarithme du coefficient octanol-eau (log Koe)], les Lignes directrices de l’OCDE pour les essais sur la bioconcentration (Essai no 305) pourraient s’appliquer aux nanomatériaux, mais seulement s’ils sont menés par voie d’exposition alimentaire.
  • En plus des facteurs traditionnels de sécurité et d’incertitude lorsqu’on extrapole des effets environnementaux aigus à des effets chroniques, des facteurs supplémentaires seront utilisés, le cas échéant, pour tenir compte de l’interaction avec la matière organique.
  • Les deux programmes utiliseront le Guide sur la préparation d’échantillons et la dosimétrie pour les nanomatériaux de l’OCDE[3] afin d’aider à déterminer les méthodes et les techniques de mesure appropriées pour la mise à l’essai des nanomatériaux.



[1] Meesters, J.A.J., Veltman, K., Hendriks, A.J., van de Meent, D. 2013. Integrated Environmental Assessment and Management, 9:e15-e26.

[2] Six Years of OECD Work on the Safety of Manufactured Nanomaterials. http://www.oecd.org/fr/env/ess/nanosecurite/Nano%20Brochure%20Sept%202012%20for%20Website%20%20%282%29.pdf. Consulté le 29 juillet 2013.

[3] ENV/JM/MONO(2012)40. Guidance on Sample Preparation and Dosimetry for the Safety Testing of Manufactured Nanomaterials. Series on the Safety of Manufactured Nanomaterials No. 36.


 [LS1]Note:

This is missing here in English.



[1] Batley, G.E., Kirby, J.K., McLaughlin, M.J. 2013. Accounts of Chemical Research,46(3) :854-862.



[1] Klaine, S.J., Alvarez, P.J.J., Batley, G.E., Fernandes, T.F., Handy, R.D., Lyon, D.Y., Mahendra, S., McLaughlin, M.J., Lead, J.R. 2008. Nanomaterials in the environment: behavior, fate, bioavailability, and effects. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, 27(9):1825‑1851.

[2] Hristozov, D.R., Gottardo, S., Critto, A., Marcomini, A. 2012. Risk assessment of engineered nanomaterials: a review of available data and approaches from a regulatory perspective. Nanotoxicology, 6(8):880-898.

[3] Zhu, M., Nie, G., Meng, H., Xia, T., Nel, A., Zhao, Y. 2013. Physicochemical properties determine nanomaterial cellular uptake, transport, and fate.  Accounts of Chemical Research, 46(3):622-631.

[4] Warheit, D.B. 2013. How to measure hazards/risks following exposures to nanoscale or pigment-grade titanium dioxide particles. Toxicology Letters, 220(2):193-204.

[5] Ma-Hock, L., Strauss, V., Treumann, S., Küttler, K., Wohlleben, W., Hofmann, T., Gröters, S., Wiench, K., van Ravenzwaay, B., Landsiedel, R. 2013. Comparative inhalation toxicity of multi-wall carbon nanotubes, graphene, graphite nanoplatelets and low surface carbon black. Particle and Fibre Toxicology 10(1):23.

[6] Donaldson, K., Poland, C.A. 2012. Inhaled nanoparticles and lung cancer - what we can learn from conventional particle toxicology. Swiss Medical Weekly 142: 13547.



[1]http://www.epa.gov/airscience/air-particulatematter.htm

[2] Donaldson, K., Duffin, R., Langrish, J.P., Miller, M.R., Mills, N.L., Poland, C.A., Raftis, J., Shah, A., Shaw, C.A., Newby, D.E. 2013. Nanoparticles and the cardiovascular system: a critical review. Nanomedicine 8(3):403-423.