Skip booklet index and go to page content

Risk Assessment/Management

Comparative Analysis of Regulatory Frameworks for Risk Management of Nanomaterials

Existing domestic statutes have provided a firm foundation for the regulation and oversight of a wide range of industrial chemicals/substances, and jurisdictions around the world have concluded that for the most part, existing regulatory authorities for industrial chemicals are applicable to nanomaterials.[1]  Even though nanomaterials are not specifically named in any of the current regulations, the definitions of a ‘chemical’ or a ‘substance’ under these legislative tools are considered broad enough to include them.  Recently however, specific advisory notes or notification procedures have been issued by agencies within Canada, the US, the European Commission (EC) and several other countries to make it clearer how, when, and which nanomaterials should be notified/registered. 

Although neither the Canadian New Substances Program nor the US New Chemicals Program have developed regulations specific to nanomaterials, reviewing the regulatory frameworks for pre-market assessment of chemicals in both jurisdictions does provide the RCC with an analysis of the current regulatory environment overseeing nanomaterials.  

A comparative analysis of regulatory frameworks under CEPA 1999 and TSCA was completed by reviewing and analyzing the two countries’ respective legislations and regulations, policies and material definitions. This provided regulatory context to the analysis of risk assessment and risk management approaches used by the Canada/US Programs, as well as an understanding of the regulatory requirements, policies and regulatory options available in Canada and the US.  In addition, a scan of regulatory tools, policies and definitions for nanomaterials in other jurisdictions (including Australia, members of the European Union and Japan) was completed.  A copy of the entire report can be found in Appendix A.

Although there are statutory differences surrounding pre-market notification requirements, information packages, assessment timelines, and target populations of interest between the Canadian and US Programs, it was found that the overarching principles for the risk assessment/risk management of nanomaterials are consistent[2],[3]

The following conclusions/observations were noted with respect to the pre-market notification of industrial chemicals and nanomaterials in the Canada/US Programs:

  • Canada and the US share more commonalities in their approaches to the management of ‘new’ chemicals and nanomaterials than they do differences.  Both countries have the capacity to issue reporting requirements, request additional information/testing, impose conditions of use or prohibitions if a ‘new’ substance is deemed to pose an unacceptable risk to health or the environment. 
  • Both Canada and the US provide notification exemptions and/or exclusions which are carefully defined and described in legislation and regulations, and are further explained in guidance documents.
  • While both countries require industry to notify their substances/nanomaterials prior to import or manufacture within their jurisdictions, the regulations under CEPA 1999 have volume triggers ranging from ≥ 100 kg/calendar year to ≥ 50,000 kg/calendar year, while TSCA has no such triggers.
  • In both countries, notifiers and evaluators are bound by timelines for new substance notifications, although those timelines are different.  Assessment periods in Canada for chemicals can be very short, ranging from 5 to 75 days.  In the US, all assessment periods are 90 days unless the assessment is for a chemical for which an exemption is requested (assessment periods are then either 30 days or 45 days). Assessment periods can be extended under both CEPA 1999 and TSCA if additional time/information is needed based on a concern to humans or the environment.  
  • The required information packages for new substances differ significantly between Canada and the US. In Canada, the identification of the substance and test data needed to evaluate hazard for the human health and the environment are prescribed in a tier-like fashion by quantity of chemical intended to be imported or manufactured. In the US, under TSCA, there are pre-market notification requirements to provide all known information; however, more detailed information is requested by the EPA only after an initial screening if it considers that there is cause for concern for human health, including specific concerns related to worker health, or for the environment.  Both Canada and the US have indicated to their industry partners a desire to receive early notification of nanomaterials and as much information as possible on the characterization and properties of these substances.
  • Both programs apply conservative assumptions about dispersal, persistence, and bioaccumulation of nanomaterials in their evaluations when there is little suitable test data available for exposure, hazard and/or risk assessment.
  • Both programs apply significant new use type provisions for notified substances about which they have concern for impacts on health and the environment (that is, permit the current use but require additional information and assessment if the use were to change).
  • International cooperation and harmonization, to the extent to which legislation permits, is also seen by both countries as a necessary and desirable objective.  



[1] OECD. 2011. Regulated Nanomaterials: 2006-2009. ENV/JM/MONO(2011)52

[2] “Policy Statement on Health Canada's Working Definition for Nanomaterial”, located at http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/sr-sr/pubs/nano/pol-eng.php (accessed on December 9, 2013).

[3] ‟Policy Principles for the U.S. Decision-Making Concerning Regulation and Oversight of Applications of Nanotechnology and Nanomaterials", http://www.whitehouse.gov/sites/default/files/omb/inforeg/for-agencies/nanotechnology-regulation-and-oversight-principles.pdf (accessed on December 9, 2013).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et gestion des risques

Analyse comparative des cadres de réglementation pour la gestion des risques des nanomatériaux

Les lois nationales existantes ont fourni un fondement solide à la réglementation et la surveillance d’un large éventail de substances et de produits chimiques industriels, et les compétences du monde entier ont conclu que, dans la plupart des cas, les autorités de réglementation existantes pour les produits chimiques industriels s’appliquent aux nanomatériaux[1]. Même si les nanomatériaux ne sont pas précisément mentionnés dans les règlements actuels, les définitions de « produit chimique » ou de « substance » en vertu de ces outils législatifs sont considérées comme suffisamment larges pour les inclure. Toutefois, des notes d’information ou des procédures de déclaration précises ont récemment été publiées par des organismes du Canada, des États-Unis, de la Commission européenne et de plusieurs autres pays afin de préciser quels nanomatériaux devraient être déclarés et inscrits ainsi que la façon et le moment pour ce faire. 

Bien que ni le Programme des substances nouvelles du Canada ni le New Chemicals Program des États‑Unis n’aient élaboré de règlements propres aux nanomatériaux, l’examen des cadres de réglementation pour l’évaluation préalable à la mise en marché des produits chimiques dans les deux compétences offre au Conseil une analyse de l’environnement réglementaire actuel qui surveille les nanomatériaux.  

Une analyse comparative des cadres de réglementation en vertu de la LCPE (1999) et de la TSCA a été menée en examinant et en analysant les lois et les règlements, les politiques et les définitions des matériaux respectifs des deux pays. Cet exercice a fourni le contexte réglementaire pour l’analyse des méthodes d’évaluation et de gestion des risques utilisées par les Programmes Canada–États-Unis, ainsi qu’une compréhension des exigences réglementaires, des politiques et des options de réglementation existantes au Canada et aux États-Unis. De plus, un examen sommaire des outils de réglementation, des politiques et des définitions pour les nanomatériaux dans autres compétences (y compris l’Australie, les membres de l’Union européenne et le Japon) a été effectué. Une copie du rapport complet est fournie à l’annexe A.

Bien qu’il existe des différences législatives entre les programmes canadiens et américains sur le plan des exigences de déclaration préalable à la mise en marché ainsi que dans les trousses d’information, les échéanciers d’évaluation et les populations d’intérêt ciblées, les principes généraux pour l’évaluation et la gestion des risques des nanomatériaux sont cohérents[2],[3]

En ce qui a trait à la déclaration préalable à la mise en marché des produits chimiques industriels et des nanomatériaux dans les Programmes Canada-États-Unis, les conclusions et les observations suivantes ont été notées :

  • Le Canada et les États-Unis ont plus de points communs dans leurs approches de la gestion des « nouveaux » produits chimiques et nanomatériaux qu’ils ont de différences. Les deux pays ont la capacité d’établir des exigences de déclaration, de demander des renseignements ou des essais supplémentaires, d’imposer de conditions d’utilisation ou des interdictions si une « nouvelle » substance est considérée comme posant un risque inacceptable pour la santé ou l’environnement. 
  • Le Canada et les États-Unis prévoient des exemptions ou des exclusions aux déclarations qui sont soigneusement définies et décrites dans les lois et les règlements et qui sont expliquées de manière plus détaillée dans des documents d’orientation.
  • Bien que les deux pays requièrent que l’industrie déclare les substances et les nanomatériaux avant leur importation ou leur fabrication à l’intérieur de leur territoire, les règlements de la LCPE (1999) précisent des volumes seuils qui varient de ≥ 100 kg par année civile à ≥ 50 000 kg par année civile, alors que la TSCA n’a pas de tels seuils.  
  • Dans les deux pays, les déclarants et les évaluateurs sont restreints par des échéanciers pour les déclarations de substances nouvelles, bien que ces échéanciers y soient différents. Au Canada, les périodes d’évaluation des produits chimiques peuvent être très courtes et varient de 5 à 75 jours. Aux États-Unis, toutes les périodes d’évaluation sont de 90 jours, à moins qu’il s’agisse de l’évaluation d’un produit chimique pour lequel une exemption est demandée (les périodes d’évaluation sont alors de 30 ou 45 jours). Les périodes d’évaluation peuvent être prolongées en vertu de la LCPE (1999) et de la TSAC si plus de temps ou des renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires en raison d’une préoccupation pour les humains ou l’environnement.
  • Les trousses d’information requises pour les substances nouvelles diffèrent grandement entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Au Canada, l’identification de la substance et les données d’essai nécessaires pour évaluer le danger pour la santé humaine et l’environnement sont prescrites suivant un système de paliers selon la quantité de produits chimiques dont l’importation ou la fabrication est prévue. Aux États-Unis, la TSCA prévoit des exigences en matière de déclaration préalable à la mise en marché de fournir tous les renseignements connus; toutefois, l’EPA demande des renseignements plus détaillés seulement après un examen préalable initial si elle considère qu’il y a matière à préoccupation pour la santé humaine, y compris des préoccupations précises relatives à la santé des travailleurs, ou pour l’environnement. Le Canada et les États-Unis ont indiqué à leurs partenaires de l’industrie leur volonté de recevoir une déclaration précoce de nanomatériaux et le plus de renseignements possible sur la caractérisation et les propriétés de ces substances.
  • Les deux programmes appliquent des hypothèses prudentes en ce qui concerne la dispersion, la persistance et la bioaccumulation des nanomatériaux dans leurs évaluations lorsqu’il y a peu de données d’essai convenables disponibles pour l’exposition et l’évaluation des dangers ou des risques.
  • Les deux programmes appliquent des dispositions de type « nouvelle utilisation importante » pour les substances déclarées dont les effets sur la santé et l’environnement sont préoccupants (c’est-à-dire qu’ils permettent l’utilisation en cours, mais exigent des renseignements et des évaluations supplémentaires si l’utilisation devait changer).

La coopération internationale et l’harmonisation, dans la mesure où la législation le permet, sont aussi considérées par les deux pays comme un objectif nécessaire et souhaitable.  



[1] OCDE. 2011. Regulated Nanomaterials: 2006-2009. ENV/JM/MONO(2011)52.

[2] « Énoncé de politique sur la définition ad hoc de Santé Canada s’appliquant aux nanomatériaux », http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/sr-sr/pubs/nano/pol-fra.php(consulté le 9 décembre 2013).

[3] « Policy Principles for the U.S. Decision-Making Concerning Regulation and Oversight of Applications of Nanotechnology and Nanomaterials », http://www.whitehouse.gov/sites/default/files/omb/inforeg/for-agencies/nanotechnology-regulation-and-oversight-principles.pdf (consulté le 9 décembre 2013).