Skip booklet index and go to page content

Priority Setting

Appendix I: Examples of Classification Schemes in Literature

Classification of nanomaterials by their containing matrix

The US Army is developing a classification scheme to take into account the behaviour of the nanomaterial in products. They have suggested the following classes: freely dispersed particles, particles in viscous media, particles in diffuse coatings, durable coatings and composites, and nanostructured products. This classification scheme is meant to provide data to regulators on army-specific products along with providing improved criteria to determine potential EHS risks associated with nanomaterials. The reader is invited to contact Jeffery Steevens (Jeffery.A.Steevens@usace.army.mil) for more information on this project. 

The US National Institute of Occupation Safety and Handling (NIOSH) has suggested grouping of nanomaterials by physical state to improve safe handling and reduce worker exposure[1].  The suggested classes are: (a) bound of fixed nanostructures (polymer matrix); (b) liquid suspension, liquid dispersion; (c) dry dispersible nanomaterials and agglomerates; and (d) nanoaerosols and gas phase synthesis (on substrate).

Similar to the NIOSH approach, Hallock and colleagues[2] have suggested classifying nanomaterials by product matrix: pure nanomaterials, items contaminated with nanomaterials, liquid suspensions, and solid matrices to ensure safe disposal. In the work by Foss Hansen and colleagues[3], the team suggests a classification approach based on the location of the nanomaterial on the product, i.e., as part of a bulk substance (e.g., nanoelectronics), on the surface (e.g., films), or as particles (e.g., liquid suspensions) thereby allowing one to distinguish which nanoparticles are expected to cause exposure, which may cause exposure, and are not expected to cause exposure to the consumer.

 



[1] US NIOSH “General Safe Practices for Working with Engineered Nanomaterials in Research Laboratories” DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 2012-147. Available at http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2012-147/pdfs/2012-147.pdf

[2] Hallock, M.; Greenley, M.; DiBerardinis.; Kalin, D.Jo. Chem. Health & Safety, 2009, 16, 16-23.

[3] Hansen, S. F.; Michelson, E.; Kamper, A.; Borling, P.; Stuer-Lauridsen, F.; Baun, A. Ecotoxicology, 2008, 17, 438-447.

Page 4

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Établissement des priorités

Annexe I : Exemples de systèmes de classification dans la littérature

Classification des nanomatériaux par leur matrice de contenu

L’armée américaine est à élaborer un système de classification qui tient compte du comportement des nanomatériaux dans les produits. Plusieurs classes sont suggérées, notamment  les particules librement dispersées, les particules dans les milieux visqueux, les particules dans les revêtements diffus, les composites et les revêtements durables ainsi que les produits nanostructurés. Ce système de classification vise à fournir aux organismes de réglementation des données sur les produits propres à l’armée ainsi qu’à établir des critères améliorés pour déterminer les risques potentiels pour l’environnement et la santé humaine associés aux nanomatériaux. Le lecteur est invité à communiquer avec Jeffery Steevens (Jeffery.A.Steevens@usace.army.mil) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet. 

Le National Institute of Occupation Safety and Handling (NIOSH) des États-Unis a suggéré de regrouper les nanomatériaux par état physique afin d’améliorer la manipulation sécuritaire et d’y réduire l’exposition des travailleurs[1]. Les classes suggérées sont les suivantes : a) lien formé de nanostructures fixes (matrice polymérique); b) suspension et dispersion dans un liquide; c) nanomatériaux dispersables à sec et agglomérats, et d) nanoaérosols et synthèse en phase gazeuse (sur le substrat).

À l’instar de l’approche du NIOSH, Hallock et et al.[2] ont suggéré de classifier les nanomatériaux par matrice de produits, à savoir les nanomatériaux purs, les objets contaminés par des nanomatériaux, les suspensions dans un liquide et les matrices solides, afin d’assurer une élimination sécuritaire. Dans les travaux menés par Foss Hansen et al.[3], l’équipe recommande une approche de classification axée sur l’emplacement du nanomatériau dans le produit, c’est-à-dire comme composante d’une substance en vrac (p. ex. la nanoélectronique), à la surface (p. ex. les membranes) ou comme particules (p. ex. les suspensions dans un liquide), ce qui permettrait de distinguer les nanoparticules qui devraient entraîner une exposition, qui pourraient entraîner une exposition et qui ne devraient pas entraîner une exposition dans le cas du consommateur.



[1] US NIOSH. « General Safe Practices for Working with Engineered Nanomaterials in Research Laboratories » DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 2012-147. Disponible à http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2012-147/pdfs/2012-147.pdf.

[2] Hallock, M.; Greenley, M.; DiBerardinis.; Kalin, D. Jo. Chem. Health & Safety, 2009, 16, 16-23.

[3]Hansen, S. F.; Michelson, E.; Kamper, A.; Borling, P.; Stuer-Lauridsen, F.; Baun, A. Ecotoxicology, 2008, 17, 438‑447.