Skip booklet index and go to page content

Nanomaterial Uses

Comparison with Findings from other Commercial Data Gathering Activities

As per the RCC Nanotechnology Work Plan, the two countries also shared information and lessons learned from other commercial data gathering activities. This information is summarized below, and, where possible, compared with the information on nanomaterials notified under the Canada/US Programs.

United States

To supplement the data gathered through PMNs, the US also looked at data gathered through the United States Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program (NMSP)[1].  In 2008, the NMSP requested voluntary submissions of information from manufacturers, importers, processors and users of nanomaterials. From 2008 - 2009, 29 companies and trade associations submitted information to the US EPA on a total of 123 nanoscale materials based on 58 different chemicals. (Although there was some overlap, these 123 materials are not the same as the approximately 130 notices reviewed by the US New Chemicals Program noted previously.)  Approximately 75 – 80% of these submissions included some type of use information although the information was very limited (e.g., no submission contained sufficient information for EPA to conduct an exposure assessment without the use of generic industry exposure scenarios).

When the US EPA compared the information obtained through the NMSP with other available information, including the Woodrow Wilson Project on Emerging Nanotechnology Consumer Products Inventory[2] and the Nanowerk[3] Nanomaterials Database[4], it was estimated that there were over 200 existing nanomaterials being produced for commercial and R&D purposes in the US. The US EPA acknowledged that this type of comparison has significant limitations because none of the databases was designed to answer questions regarding any specific company’s production or use of a particular nanoscale material, many of the nanomaterials in the databases could be excluded from or exempt from TSCA regulation (e.g., for research and development or pesticide or food/drug-related uses), and none of the databases provided the specific molecular identity and form of a particular nanoscale material for verification.

Post-analysis, 28 of the 200+ existing chemicals being produced at the nanoscale were included in the NMSP nanomaterials submissions[5]; these 28 are included in the 130 nanomaterials assessed by the US New Chemicals Program.  The chemicals were generically identified as metals, metal oxides, carbon nanotubes, amorphous silica, organic polymers, and nanoclays.  Reported uses were similar to what had been notified as PMNs, including imaging agents, plastic additives, catalysts, coatings, ingredients in sunscreens, cells for batteries, and composite parts for marine, aircraft, and automobile applications. No particular uses predominated.

The NMSP is considered a limited success primarily due to under-participation, and because a number of environmental health and safety data gaps still exist.  Many submissions were for research and development only, and a significant number were also submitted as PMNs, although some were submitted after NMSP. The NMSP did, to a limited degree, improve the US EPA’s understanding of nanomaterials and the nanomaterials industry, contribute to EPA’s engagement with other agencies and international bodies, and inform next steps on regulatory and research issues.

Canada

In Canada, the federal Department of Industry maintains Company Directories for Nanotechnologies, organized under broad categories such as Nanotechnology Appliers or Users, and Nanotechnology Producers; as well as by Advanced Materials, including Advanced Metals, Ceramics and Composite Materials.  There are approximately 120 companies[6] listed in the directories: inclusion is voluntary, and all listed information is provided by the companies. The information provided varies widely by company, and may include: company information; product, service or licensing information; technology and market profiles; and, sector information[7]. The database is not comprehensive as companies involved in nanotechnology may or may not have self-identified. As well, the database is limited as the type of nanomaterial being used is not generally identified.

There are several provincial nanotechnology associations in Canada who have undertaken efforts to identify companies involved in nanotechnology, and nanomaterials and nanomaterial uses within their jurisdictions. In 2009 Alberta Innovates Technology Futures (formerly Alberta Ingenuity, Alberta Research Council, iCORE, and nanoAlberta) produced an asset map, designed to “to present a snapshot of nanotech activity in the province”[8]. The report identified 22 nanotechnology companies operating in Alberta and placed them into five categories based on industrial uses: nano-intermediates (38%); nano-enabled products (33%); nano-services (13%); nanomaterials (12%); and nano-tools (4%).

Another provincial association, NanoQuébec, also looked at nanotechnology research and industrial activities within its provincial boundaries[9]. It identified that at least 64 companies in Québec are using and/or testing nanomaterials for commercial purposes. The main nanomaterials being used in Québec were found to be nanocrystalline cellulose (NCC), carbon nanotubes, and quantum dots. Intended uses included:  industrial and medical membranes, protective coatings, imaging devices and agents, drugs, lab-on-a-chip applications, paper, printed electronics applications, fuel cells, solar cells, textiles, security clothing, and food packaging.

Information on nanotechnologies in Canada was also gathered from the online database Nanowerk[10] also used by the US EPA for its 2008 research. Although this database is not rigourously collated or validated, and may therefore contain out-of-date or inaccurate information, the New Substances Program was able to use some of the Nanowerk data by doing additional verification (e.g., web searches).

Based on information gathered from these sources, approximately 100 companies have been identified which appear to be manufacturing, importing or using nanomaterials in Canada.  Analysis indicates there are a similar number of nanomaterial producers and of nanomaterial integrators (companies who integrate nanomaterials in other materials or products along the value chain) in Canada. Geographic clusters of nanotechnology companies can be found in Toronto, Vancouver, Montréal and Ottawa. The primary nanomaterials being produced or being used for commercial purposes in Canada are: nanoparticle metals (e.g. iron, copper), metal oxides, metalloids (e.g., silica), carbon nanotubes, and organic (e.g., NCC). The main use categories for these nanomaterials are: coatings, composites, and dyes/pigments/inks. These overall findings are consistent with information received through notifications to the Canadian New Substances Program.

Global Trends

A report on the global nanotechnology industry released in January 2013 by Future Markets, a London, UK-based technology consulting firm with an expertise in nanotechnology, provided a review of the main nanomaterials suppliers and user markets for 30 nanomaterials[11]. The report also forecasted nanomaterial production and demand for nanomaterials by end-user market from 2010 through to 2020.  (It should be noted that the nanomaterials identified in the Future Markets report may not be consistent with nanomaterials that the Canada/US Programs consider to be nanomaterials.) The report predicts that the global nanotechnology market will continue to grow over the coming decade, but also highlights the difficulty of obtaining accurate information on nanomaterial use, both current and projected. Its estimates for annual global nanomaterial production in 2010 varied from a conservative 400,000 tons to an “optimistic” 1 million tons; 2020 production estimates ranged from 1 million to 6 million tons.

In 2012, the largest global marketplace applications identified for nanomaterials by the Future Markets report were paints and coatings (19%), medical applications (14%), and electronics/optics (14%); the report predicts that most innovation and growth will occur in medical applications and electronics/optics. Cosmetics/personal care (10%) and composites (8%) were also identified as major areas of marketplace application. (The percentages cited above represent the estimated percentage of total global demand in 2012 for nanomaterials in those areas.) These findings suggest that coatings are currently the major commercially-relevant use of nanomaterials, which is consistent with notifications to the Canada/US Programs.  



[1] United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). January 2009. Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program Interim Report.

[2] Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Project on Emerging Nanotechnologies (PEN) 2008. Nanotechnology Consumer Products Inventory. Available online at: http://www.nanotechproject.org/inventories/consumer/. Accessed December 15, 2008.

[3] Nanowerk is a for-profit nanotechnology portal with offices in the US and Europe; the US used the data available when they did their research, in 2008.

[4] Nanowerk. 2008. Nanomaterials Database. Available at http://www.nanowerk.com/phpscripts/n_dbsearch.php. Accessed December 15, 2008.

[5] United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). January 2009. Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program Interim Report.

[6] Researchers validated those companies listed in the Industry Canada database to ensure they were still producing and/or using nanomaterials.

[7] Industry Canada. 2011. Company Directories for Nanotechnologies. Available online at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/aimb-dgami.nsf/eng/03503.html.

[8]Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures/NanoAlberta. 2009. Creating Opportunity: Alberta’s Nanotechnology Asset Map 2009.  

[9] NanoQuebec. 2013. Mapping of Quebec Companies Using Nanomaterials in their Product Development and Highlight of Main Market/Application Trends.

[10] Nanowerk. 2013. Nanotechnology companies in Canada. Available online at: http://www.nanowerk.com/nanotechnology/Nanotechnology_Companies_Research_and_Degree_Programs_in_Canada.php.

[11] Future Markets Inc. 2013. The Global Nanotechnologies and Nanomaterials Industry.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Utilisations de nanomatériaux

Comparaison des constatations faites dans le cadre d’autres activités de collecte de données commerciales

Conformément au Plan de travail sur la nanotechnologie du Conseil, les deux pays ont aussi échangé des renseignements et des leçons apprises dans le cas d’autres activités de collecte de données commerciales. Ces renseignements sont résumés ci-dessous et, dans la mesure du possible, comparés avec les renseignements sur les nanomatériaux déclarés en vertu des Programmes Canada-États-Unis.

États-Unis

Afin de compléter les données recueillies à l’aide des déclarations de préfabrication , les États-Unis ont également étudié les données recueillies par le Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program[1] (ci-après appelé « programme NMSP ») de l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis. En 2008, les responsables de ce programme ont demandé des soumissions volontaires de renseignements de la part des fabricants, des importateurs, des transformateurs et des utilisateurs de nanomatériaux. De 2008 à 2009, 29 entreprises et associations professionnelles ont soumis à l’EPA des États-Unis des renseignements sur un total de 123 matériaux à l’échelle nanométrique provenant de 58 produits chimiques différents (bien qu’il y ait quelques chevauchements, ces 123 matériaux ne sont pas les mêmes que ceux visés par les quelque 130 déclarations examinées par le New Chemicals Program des États-Unis mentionnées précédemment). Environ 75 à 80 % de ces soumissions comprenaient quelques renseignements sur le type d’utilisation, quoique les renseignements aient été très limités (p. ex. aucune soumission ne comportait suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre à l’EPA d’effectuer une évaluation de l’exposition sans recourir  aux scénarios génériques d’exposition de l’industrie).

Lorsque l’EPA a comparé les renseignements obtenus par le programme NMSP avec les autres renseignements disponibles, y compris ceux du Consumer Products Inventory lié au Woodrow Wilson Project on Emerging Nanotechnologies[2] et ceux de la base de données de nanomatériaux[3] de Nanowerk[4], on a estimé à plus de 200 le nombre de nanomatériaux existants produits à des fins commerciales et de recherche et développement aux États-Unis. L’EPA reconnaît que ce type de comparaison accuse des limites importantes puisqu’aucune de ces bases de données n’était conçue pour répondre aux questions sur la production ou l’utilisation d’un matériau à l’échelle nanométrique d’une entreprise donnée et, par conséquent, de nombreux nanomatériaux répertoriés dans les bases de données pouvaient être exclus ou exemptés de la réglementation en vertu du TSCA (p. ex. pour la recherche et développement ou pour les utilisations relatives aux pesticides, aux aliments ou aux médicaments), et aucune des bases de données n’a fourni l’identité ou la forme moléculaire précise d’un matériau particulier à l’échelle nanométrique aux fins de vérification.

Après l’analyse, 28 des plus de 200 produits chimiques existants  étant fabriqués à l’échelle nanométrique ont été visés par les soumissions de nanomatériaux du programme NMSP[5]; ces 28 sont compris dans les 130 nanomatériaux évalués par le New Chemicals Program des États-Unis. Les produits chimiques étaient identifiés de manière générique comme des métaux, des oxydes métalliques, des nanotubes de carbone, des silices sublimées, des polymères organiques et des nanoargiles. Les utilisations déclarées étaient similaires à celles signalées dans les demandes de nouvelles substances, y compris les agents d’imagerie, les adjuvants plastiques, les catalyseurs, les revêtements, les ingrédients dans les écrans solaires, les cellules pour les piles et les pièces composites pour les applications marines, aériennes et automobiles. Aucune utilisation en particulier n’a prédominé.

Le programme NMSP est considéré comme un succès mitigé,  principalement en raison de la faible participation et de la persistance d’un certain nombre de lacunes dans les données sur la santé et la sécurité de l’environnement. De nombreuses demandes n’ont été soumises qu’à des fins de recherche et de développement et bon nombre d’entre elles ont été soumises en tant que demandes de nouvelles substances, quoique certaines aient été soumises après la mise sur pied du programme NMSP. Ce programme a, dans une certaine mesure, amélioré la compréhension de l’EPA à l’égard des nanomatériaux et de l’industrie des nanomatériaux, contribué à l’engagement de l’EPA avec les autres agences et organismes internationaux et éclairé les prochaines étapes à suivre pour aborder les enjeux en matière de réglementation et de recherche.

Canada

Au Canada, le ministère fédéral de l’Industrie maintient des Répertoires d’entreprises pour les nanotechnologies, divisés en de vastes catégories telles que les Entreprises qui appliquent ou utilisent la nanotechnologie et les Fabricants de produits issus de la nanotechnologie, ainsi que par Matériaux de pointe, y compris les Métaux avancés, les Céramiques et les Matériaux de composites. Il y a environ 120 entreprises[6] énumérées dans les répertoires : l’inclusion est volontaire et tous les renseignements affichés sont fournis par les entreprises. Les renseignements fournis varient largement par entreprise et peuvent comprendre des renseignements de l’entreprise, des renseignements sur le produit, le service ou la licence, des profils de technologie et de marché ainsi que des renseignements sectoriels[7]. La base de données n’est pas exhaustive, étant donné que les entreprises du domaine de la nanotechnologie peuvent s’y être inscrites ou non. De plus, la base de données est limitée puisque le type de nanomatériau utilisé n’est pas indiqué en général.

Plusieurs associations provinciales de nanotechnologie au Canada ont entrepris des efforts pour relever les entreprises du domaine de la nanotechnologie, les nanomatériaux et les utilisations de nanomatériaux à l’intérieur de leurs compétences. En 2009, Alberta Innovates Technology Futures (anciennement Alberta Ingenuity, Alberta Research Council, iCORE et nanoAlberta) a produit une carte des actifs visant à « présenter un cliché de l’activité en nanotechnologie dans la province »[8]. Le rapport a relevé 22 entreprises de nanotechnologie exploitées en Alberta et les a placées dans cinq catégories en fonction des utilisations industrielles : les nanointermédiaires (38 %), les produits appuyés par la nanotechnologie (33 %), les services liés à la nanotechnologie (13 %), les nanomatériaux (12 %) et les nanooutils (4 %).

Une autre association provinciale, NanoQuébec, s’est aussi penchée sur les activités industrielles et de recherche liées à la nanotechnologie au sein de ses frontières provinciales[9]. Elle a relevé au moins 64 entreprises au Québec qui utilisent ou mettent à l’essai des nanomatériaux à des fins commerciales. Elle a déterminé que les principaux nanomatériaux utilisés au Québec sont la cellulose nanocristalline, les nanotubes de carbone et les points quantiques. Les utilisations visées comprenaient : les membranes industrielles et médicales, les revêtements protecteurs, les dispositifs et agents d’imagerie, les médicaments, les applications de laboratoire sur puce, le papier, les applications de l’électronique imprimée, les piles à combustible, les piles solaires, les textiles, les vêtements protecteurs et l’emballage alimentaire.

Des renseignements sur les nanotechnologies au Canada ont  également été recueillis de la base de données en ligne Nanowerk[10], aussi utilisée par l’EPA pour son étude de 2008. Bien que cette base de données n’ait pas été constituée ou validée rigoureusement et qu’elle risque, par conséquent, de contenir des renseignements périmés ou inexacts, le Programme canadien des substances nouvelles a été en mesure d’utiliser les données de Nanowerk en effectuant des vérifications supplémentaires (p. ex. des recherches sur le Web).

Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de ces sources, environ 100 entreprises semblent fabriquer, importer ou utiliser des nanomatériaux au Canada. L’analyse indique qu’il existe un nombre similaire de producteurs de nanomatériaux et d’intégrateurs de nanomatériaux (les entreprises qui intègrent les nanomatériaux dans d’autres matériaux ou produits le long de la chaîne de valeur) au Canada. Des regroupements géographiques d’entreprises de nanotechnologie peuvent être retrouvés à Toronto, Vancouver, Montréal et Ottawa. Les principaux nanomatériaux produits ou utilisés à des fins commerciales au Canada sont les métaux de nanoparticules (p. ex. le fer, le cuivre), les oxydes métalliques, les non-métaux (p. ex. la silice), les nanotubes de carbone et les substances organiques (p. ex, la cellulose nanocristalline). Les principales catégories d’utilisation pour ces nanomatériaux sont les revêtements, les composites et les teintures, pigments et encres. Ces constatations générales correspondent aux renseignements reçus dans le cadre des déclarations faites au Programme canadien des substances nouvelles.

Tendances mondiales

Un rapport sur l’industrie mondiale de la nanotechnologie publié en janvier 2013 par Future Markets, une firme d’experts-conseils en technologie spécialisée en nanotechnologie, installée à Londres, au Royaume-Uni,  a procédé à un examen des principaux fournisseurs et marchés d’utilisateurs de nanomatériaux pour 30 nanomatériaux[11]. Le rapport estimé la production de nanomatériaux et la demande en nanomatériaux pour le marché des utilisateurs finaux de 2010 à 2020 (il faut remarquer que les nanomatériaux relevés dans le rapport de Future Markets peuvent ne pas correspondre aux nanomatériaux considérés comme tels dans le cadre des Programmes Canada-États-Unis). Selon le rapport, le marché mondial de la nanotechnologie continuera de croître au cours de la prochaine décennie, mais il sera difficile d’obtenir des renseignements précis sur l’utilisation des nanomatériaux, actuels et prévus. Ses estimations pour la production mondiale annuelle de nanomatériaux en 2010 variaient d’une valeur prudente de 400 000 tonnes à un chiffre « optimiste » de 1 million de tonnes; les estimations de la production de 2020 variaient de 1 million à 6 millions de tonnes.

En 2012, les plus importantes applications du marché mondial déterminées par le rapport de Future Markets pour les nanomatériaux étaient les peintures et les revêtements (19 %), les applications médicales (14 %) ainsi que l’électronique et l’optique (14 %). Le rapport prévoit que la majeure partie de l’innovation et de la croissance aura lieu dans les applications médicales de même que dans  l’électronique et l’optique. Les soins cosmétiques et personnels (10 %) et les composites (8 %) ont aussi été déterminés comme des secteurs majeurs d’application du marché (les pourcentages susmentionnés représentent le pourcentage estimé de la demande mondiale totale en 2012 pour les nanomatériaux dans ces secteurs). Ces constatations laissent entendre que les revêtements constituent en ce moment la principale utilisation commercialement pertinente des nanomatériaux, ce qui correspond aux déclarations faites aux Programmes Canada-États-Unis.  



[1] United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). Janvier 2009. Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program Interim Report.

[2] Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Project on Emerging Nanotechnologies (PEN) 2008. Nanotechnology Consumer Products Inventory. Disponible en ligne à : http://www.nanotechproject.org/inventories/consumer/. Consulté le 15 décembre 2008.

[3] Nanowerk. 2008. Nanomaterials Database. Disponible en ligne à : http://www.nanowerk.com/phpscripts/n_dbsearch.php. Consulté le 15 décembre 2008.

[4] Nanowerk est un portail de nanotechnologie à but lucratif avec des bureaux aux États-Unis et en Europe. Les États-Unis ont utilisé les données disponibles lorsqu’ils ont mené leur étude en 2008.

[5] United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). Janvier 2009. Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program Interim Report.

[6] Les chercheurs ont validé les entreprises énumérées dans la base de données d’Industrie Canada afin de s’assurer qu’elles produisaient ou utilisaient toujours des nanomatériaux.

[7] Industrie Canada. 2011. Répertoires d’entreprises pour les nanotechnologies. Disponible en ligne à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/aimb-dgami.nsf/fra/03503.html.

[8]Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures/NanoAlberta. 2009. Creating Opportunity: Alberta’s Nanotechnology Asset Map 2009.  

[9] NanoQuébec. 2013. Mapping of Quebec Companies Using Nanomaterials in their Product Development and Highlight of Main Market/Application Trends.

[10] Nanowerk. 2013. Nanotechnology companies in Canada. Disponible en ligne à : http://www.nanowerk.com/nanotechnology/Nanotechnology_Companies_Research_and_Degree_Programs_in_Canada.php.

[11] Future Markets Inc. 2013. The Global Nanotechnologies and Nanomaterials Industry.