Frequently Asked Questions

Many organizations, regulatory bodies and government departments provide answers to general questions about nanotechnology. These answers also cover how these organizations, regulatory bodies and government departments are dealing with the promises and pitfalls that come with the research, development, manufacture and use of nanotechnology-based materials and applications.

 Questions

 Questions and Answers

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is nanotechnology?

    Nanotechnology is the understanding and control of matter at dimensions between approximately 1 and 100 nanometers, where unique phenomena enable novel applications. Encompassing nanoscale science, engineering, and technology, nanotechnology involves imaging, measuring, modeling, and manipulating matter at this length scale.

    A nanometer is one-billionth of a meter. A sheet of paper is about 100,000 nanometers thick; a single gold atom is about a third of a nanometer in diameter. Nanotechnology is different from older technologies because unusual physical, chemical, and biological properties can emerge in materials at the nanoscale.

    These properties may differ in important ways from the properties of bulk materials and single atoms or molecules. Researchers who try to understand the fundamentals of these size-dependent properties call their work nanoscience, while those focusing on how to effectively use the properties call their work nanoengineering.

    Top of Page

  • Is nanotechnology new? Where did it come from?

    Yes and no. There are isolated examples of discoveries that we might now call nanotechnology going back 50 years or even more. We know that nanoscale gold was used in stained glass and ceramics as far back as the 10th Century, but it took 10 more centuries before high-powered microscopes were invented that allowed us to see things at the nanoscale and begin to work with materials at that level.

    Nanotechnology as we now know it began about twenty years ago, when science and engineering extended into the nanoscale from both above and below. Around the turn of the millennium, research managers in the U.S. and other countries observed that physicists, biologists, chemists, electrical engineers, optical engineers, and materials scientists were working on interlocking issues at the nanoscale. Realizing that these researchers could benefit from each other´s insights, they set up a coordinated program called the U.S. National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI).

    Top of Page

  • What is a nanometer?

    A nanometer is one billionth of a meter. (A meter is about 10% longer than a yard.) The prefix “nano” means “one billionth”, or 10-9, in the international system for units of weights and measure.

    Top of Page

  • What is the nanoscale?

    Practically speaking, the nanoscale ranges from about 1 nanometer (nm) to 100 nanometers. The top and bottom of the scale are hard to define sharply, but are chosen to exclude individual atoms on the lower end and things you might see with a very good optical microscope on the upper end.

    Top of Page

  • What is a nanomaterial?

    Although there is no internationally recognized definition of this type of substance, nanomaterials can be described generally as substances having one or more spatial dimensions in a nanoscale range, typically between 1-100 nanometers, and which exhibit chemical and physical properties unique to that size range. For example, gold which is used in jewellery exhibits only one color and is chemically inert, however, on the nanoscale, the same gold can exhibit many different colors (red to purple) along with being an efficient catalyst for chemicals (e.g., propene oxide). Note that certain nanomaterials fall outside the typical nanoscale range. For example, fullerenes (buckyballs) have all three dimensions smaller than 1 nanometer, while quantum dots may have all three dimensions greater than 100 nanometers.

    Top of Page

  • What are nanomaterials? Are they new? Do they exist in nature?

    Nanomaterials is a term that includes all nanosized materials, including engineered nanoparticles, incidental nanoparticles and other nano-objects, like those that exist in nature.

    When particles are purposefully manufactured with nanoscale dimensions, we call them engineered nanoparticles. There are two other ways nanoparticles are formed. Nanoparticles can occur as a byproduct of combustion, industrial manufacturing, and other human activities; these are known as incidental nanoparticles. Natural processes, such as sea spray and erosion, can also create nanoparticles.

    Many important functions of living organisms take place at the nanoscale. The human body uses natural nanoscale materials, such as proteins and other molecules, to control the body´s many systems and processes. A typical protein such as hemoglobin, which carries oxygen through the bloodstream, is 5 nms in diameter.

    Top of Page

  • What are nanoparticles, nanotubes, and nanofilms?

    These are different types of nanomaterials, named for their individual shapes and dimensions. Think of these simply as particles, tubes, and films that have one or more nanosized dimension. Nanoparticles are bits of a material in which all three dimensions of the particle are within the nanoscale. Nanotubes have a diameter that´s nanosize, but can be several hundred nanometers (nm) long or even longer. Nanofilms or nanoplates have a thickness that´s nanosize, but their other two dimensions can be quite large.

    Top of Page

  • What is a nanostructured material?

    A nanostructured material has internal structure that is within the 1 to100 nanometer (nm) range, while the pieces of material themselves are larger than 100 nm.

    Top of Page

  • Where is nanotechnology used today?

    Nanotechnology is used in many commercial products and processes. Nanomaterials are used to add strength to composite materials used to make lightweight tennis rackets, baseball bats, and bicycles. Nanostructured catalysts are used to make chemical manufacturing processes more efficient, saving energy and reducing the waste products. A few pharmaceutical products have been reformulated with nanosized particles to improve their absorption and make them easier to administer. Opticians apply nanocoatings to eyeglasses to make them easier to keep clean and harder to scratch. Nanomaterials are applied as coatings on fabrics to make clothing stain resistant and easy to care for. Several companies make nanostructured products using space-saving insulators that are useful when size and weight is at a premium--for example, when insulating long pipelines in remote places, or trying to reduce heating losses in a leaky old house. Nanoceramics are used in some dental implants, or to fill holes in bones after removing a bone tumor, because their mechanical and chemical properties can be tuned to match those of the surrounding tissue. Almost all electronic devices manufactured in the last decade use some nanomaterials. Nanotechnology is used much more extensively to build new transistor structures and interconnects for the fastest, most advanced computing chips.

    Top of Page

  • Where else will nanotechnology be used in the future?

    Some exciting new nanotechnology-based medicines are now in clinical trials. Some use nanoparticles to deliver toxic drugs directly to tumors, while minimizing the amount of drug damages healthy tissue. Others are used to make medical imaging tools, like MRIs and CAT scans, work better and more safely. Nanotechnology is enabling scientists to find ways to make our home, cars, and businesses more energy efficient through new fuel cells, batteries, and solar panels. They are also finding ways to purify drinking water and to detect and clean up environmental waste and damage. Nanosensors in packaging may soon be able to detect food borne pathogens. New nanomaterials will be stronger, lighter and more durable than the materials we use today in buildings, bridges, automobiles, and more. Scientists have experimented with nanomaterials that bend light and may one day be able to create an “invisibility cloak.” The possibilities seem limitless and the future of nanotechnology holds great potential.

    Top of Page

  • What are the safety concerns related to nanomaterials?

    Like chemicals, nanomaterials represent a wide range of materials with different shapes and sizes, as well as different chemical and physical behaviours. As a consequence, no general statements can be made about the inherent safety of nanomaterials to human health or the environment. However, due to their small size, nanomaterials may enter the body more readily than larger particles and may pose an inhalation hazard in occupational settings. Research on the movement, persistence and toxicity of nanomaterials both in humans and the environment is currently underway to ensure the responsible development and safe use of the technology.

    Top of Page

  • Where can I go to find out more information about the Regulatory Program for Nanomaterials under CEPA, 1999?

    Information and updates to Environment Canada´s and Health Canada´s regulatory framework for nanomaterials

    Top of Page

Questions et réponses

De nombreuses organisations, les organismes de réglementation et les ministères de fournir des réponses à des questions générales sur la nanotechnologie. Ces réponses couvrent également la manière dont ces organisations, les organismes de réglementation et les ministères du gouvernement traitent avec les promesses et les pièges qui viennent avec la recherche, le développement, la fabrication et l'utilisation de matériaux issus des nanotechnologies et des applications.

 Questions

 Questions et réponses

Questions et réponses

  • Que sont les nanotechnologies?

    La nanotechnologie est la compréhension et la maîtrise de la matière à des dimensions comprises entre environ 1 et 100 nanomètres, où des phénomènes uniques permettent de nouvelles applications. Englobant la nanoscience, de l'ingénierie et la technologie, la nanotechnologie implique l'imagerie, de mesure, de modélisation et de manipuler la matière à cette échelle de longueur.

    Un nanomètre
    est un milliardième de mètre. Une feuille de papier est d'environ 100.000 nanomètres d'épaisseur, un atome unique de l'or est d'environ un tiers d'un nanomètre de diamètre. La nanotechnologie est différent de technologies plus anciennes à cause physique inhabituelle, chimiques et biologiques peuvent apparaître dans les matériaux à l'échelle nanométrique.

    Ces
    propriétés peuvent différer de façon importante à partir des propriétés des matériaux en vrac et des atomes ou de molécules. Les chercheurs qui cherchent à comprendre les fondements de ces propriétés dépendant de la taille de leur appelnanosciences travail, tandis que ceux qui se concentrent sur la façon d'utiliser efficacement les propriétés d'appel leur travail nanogénie.

    Haut de page

  • Est-ce la nanotechnologie nouvelle? Où est-elle venue?

    Oui et non. Il existe des exemples isolés de découvertes que nous pourrions appeler maintenant la nanotechnologie revenir 50 ans ou même plus. Nous savons que l'or échelle nanométrique a été utilisé dans des vitraux et des céramiques aussi loin que le 10e siècle, mais il a fallu 10 siècles plus avant microscopes haute puissance ont été inventées qui nous a permis de voir les choses à l'échelle nanométrique et de commencer à travailler avec des matériaux à l'niveau.

    La nanotechnologie
    comme nous la connaissons aujourd'hui a commencé il ya vingt ans, quand la science et du génie étendu à l'échelle nanométrique des deux ci-dessus et ci-dessous. Vers le tournant du millénaire, les directeurs de recherche aux États-Unis et d'autres pays a fait observer que les physiciens, biologistes, chimistes, ingénieurs électriciens, d'ingénieurs en optique, et les scientifiques travaillant sur les matériaux ont été questions interdépendantes à l'échelle nanométrique. Sachant que ces chercheurs pourraient bénéficier mutuellement de leurs connaissances, ils ont mis en place un programme coordonnéappelé le US National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI).

    Haut de page

  • Qu'est-ce qu'un nanomètre?

    Un nanomètre est un milliardième de mètre. (Un mètre est d'environ 10% plus d'un mètre.) Le préfixe «nano» signifie «un milliardième», ou 10-9, dans le système international d'unités de poids et mesure.

     

    Haut de page

  • Quelle est l'échelle nanométrique?

    Concrètement, les plages échelle nanométrique d'environ 1 nanomètre (nm) à 100 nanomètres. Le haut et le bas de l'échelle sont difficiles à définir nettement, mais sont choisi d'exclure des atomes individuels à l'extrémité inférieure et les choses que vous pourriez voir avec un microscope très bonne optique sur l'extrémité supérieure.

    Haut de page

  • Qu´est-ce qu´un nanomatériau?

    Par « nanomatériau », on entend généralement une substance qui possède au moins une dimension comprise entre 1 et 100 nanomètres, lui conférant des propriétés physico-chimiques particulières. Soulignons toutefois qu´il n´existe pas de définition reconnue à l´échelle internationale de ce terme. Par exemple, l´or qui est utilisé en bijouterie est inerte sur le plan chimique et conserve toujours la même couleur, alors qu´à l´échelle nanoscopique, il peut prendre différentes couleurs (du rouge au mauve) et devient un catalyseur efficace pour certaines substances chimiques (p. ex. oxyde de propylène). Il convient de noter que les dimensions de certains nanomatériaux ne sont pas nécessairement comprises dans la plage nanométrique. C´est notamment le cas des fullerènes (buckminsterfullerène), dont les trois dimensions sont inférieures à 1 nanomètre, et des points quantiques, dont les trois dimensions sont supérieures à 100

    Haut de page

  • Quels sont les nanomatériaux? Sont-ils nouveaux? Est-ce qu'ils existent dans la nature?

    Nanomatériaux est un terme qui inclut tous les matériaux nanométriques, y compris les nanoparticules, nanoparticules accessoires et autres nano-objets, comme ceux qui existent dans la nature.

    Lorsque les particules sont
    intentionnellement fabriqués avec des dimensions nanométriques, nous les appelons ingénierie des nanoparticules. Il existe deux autres façons nanoparticules sont formées. Les nanoparticules peuvent se produire comme sous-produit de la combustion, la fabrication industrielle, et d'autres activités humaines, qui sont connus sous forme de nanoparticules accessoires. Les processus naturels, tels que les embruns marins et l'érosion, peuvent également créer des nanoparticules.

    Beaucoup de
    fonctions importantes des organismes vivants ont lieu à l'échelle nanométrique. Le corps humain utilise des matériaux naturels échelle nanométrique, comme les protéines et autres molécules, pour contrôler de nombreux systèmes du corps et des processus. Une protéine typique comme l'hémoglobine, qui transporte l'oxygène dans le sang, est de 5 milles marins de diamètre.

    Haut de page

  • Quelles sont les nanoparticules, les nanotubes, et nanofilms?

    Ces différents types de nanomatériaux, nommé pour leurs formes individuelles et les dimensions. Pensez à ces particules simplement, tubes, et des films qui ont une ou plusieurs dimensions nanométriques. Les nanoparticules sont des bits d'un matériau dans lequel les trois dimensions de la particule sont à l'échelle nanométrique. Nanotubes ont un diamètre de nanoparticules, mais peut être plusieurs centaines de nanomètres (nm) de longueur ou même plus. Nanofilms ou nanoplaquesont une épaisseur qui nanométriques, mais leurs deux autres dimensions peuvent être très importantes.

    Haut de page

  • Qu'est-ce qu'un matériau nanostructuré?

    Un matériau nanostructuré a une structure interne qui est dans les 1 à 100 nanomètres (nm), tandis que les pièces de matérieleux-mêmes sont plus grandes que 100 nm.

    Haut de page

  • Où est la nanotechnologie utilisée aujourd'hui?

    Les nanotechnologies sont utilisées dans de nombreux produits et procédés commerciaux. Les nanomatériaux sont utilisés pour ajouter de la résistance des matériaux composites utilisés pour fabriquer des raquettes de tennis légère, bâtons de baseball, et des bicyclettes. Catalyseurs nanostructurés sont utilisés pour rendre la fabrication de procédés chimiques plus efficaces, les économies d'énergie et de réduire les déchets. Un petit nombre de produits pharmaceutiques ont été reformulées avec des particules de taille nanométrique pour améliorer leur absorption et de les rendre plus faciles à administrer. Opticiens s'appliquent nanorevêtements de lunettes pour les rendre plus faciles à nettoyer et plus difficile à zéro. Les nanomatériaux sont appliquées comme revêtement sur les tissus pour fabriquer des vêtements résistant aux taches et facile à entretenir. Plusieurs entreprises fabriquent des produits nanostructurés en utilisant des isolateurs de faible encombrement qui sont utiles lorsque la taille et le poids est à une prime, par exemple, lorsque isolante longs pipelines dans des endroits éloignés, ou d'essayer de réduire les pertes de chauffage dans une maison ancienne qui fuient. Nanoceramics sont utilisés dans certains implants dentaires, ou pour remplir les trous dans les os après avoir enlevé une tumeur osseuse, parce que leurs propriétés mécaniques et chimiques peuvent être ajustées pour correspondre à celles du tissu environnant. Presque tous les appareils électroniques fabriqués dans la dernière décennie, l'utilisation des nanomatériaux. Les nanotechnologies sont utilisées beaucoup plus largement à construire des structures nouveau transistor et des interconnexionspour les plus rapides, des puces informatiques les plus avancées.

    Haut de page

  • Où d'autre que la nanotechnologie sera utilisée à l'avenir?

    De passionnants nouveaux médicaments basés sur les nanotechnologies sont en cours d'essais cliniques. Certains utilisent les nanoparticules pour délivrer des médicaments toxiques directement dans les tumeurs, tout en minimisant le montant des dommages-intérêts de drogues tissus sains. D'autres sont utilisés pour fabriquer des outils d'imagerie médicale, comme les IRM et tomodensitométrie, travailler mieux et plus sûre. La nanotechnologie permet aux scientifiques de trouver des façons de faire de notre maison, voitures, et les entreprises plus éconergétiques grâce à des piles à combustible nouvelle, les batteries et panneaux solaires. Ils sont également trouver des moyens pour purifier l'eau potable et à détecter et à éliminer les déchets et les dommages environnementaux. Nanocapteurs dans son emballage peut-être bientôt en mesure de détecter les agents pathogènes d'origine alimentaire. De nouveaux nanomatériaux seront solides, plus légers et plus durables que les matériaux que nous utilisons aujourd'hui dans les bâtiments, des ponts, des automobiles, et plus encore. Les scientifiques ont expérimenté des nanomatériaux qui courbent la lumière et peut un jour être en mesure de créer une «cape d'invisibilité." Les possibilités semblent illimitées et l'avenir de la nanotechnologie offre un grand potentiel.

    Haut de page

  • Quels sont les problèmes d´innocuité associés aux nanomatériaux?

    Le terme « nanomatériaux » englobe un large éventail de matériaux de tailles et de formes différentes qui sont dotés de propriétés physiques et chimiques différentes. On ne peut donc pas tirer de conclusions générales sur les effets délétères intrinsèques des nanomatériaux sur la santé humaine ou l´environnement. Toujours est-il qu´étant donné leur taille minuscule, les nanomatériaux peuvent pénétrer dans l´organisme plus facilement que des particules plus grosses; se pose donc la question du risque d´inhalation sur le lieu de travail. On en train de mener des travaux de recherche visant à évaluer le mouvement, la persistance et la toxicité des nanomatériaux, chez l´humain et dans l´environnement, de façon qu´ils soient mis au point de manière responsable et utilisés en toute sécurité.

    Haut de page

  • Où puis-je trouver des renseignements complémentaires sur la proposition de cadre réglementaire pour les nanomatériaux en vertu de la LCPE (1999)?

    L´information et des mises à jour sur la proposition de
    cadre réglementaire pour les nanomatériaux d´Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada

    Haut de page