Advocates

Nanotech BC 1

Nanotech BC has currently suspended its operations until suitable funding of its activities and new projects can be ascertained.

 Nanotech BC has three mandates:

  • Advocate - Provide a voice for the British Columbia nanotechnology community, both at home and internationally.
  • Stimulate - Foster a thriving nanotechnology community where government, academic and business stakeholders can meet and support each other.
  • Educate - Communicate with industrial, academic and government sectors as well as with the public to increase awareness of nanotechnology and what it means for BC.

 To achieve this, Nanotech BC is collaborating with regional, national, and international organizations.  Nanotech BC promotes and facilitates entrepreneurial research as well as researcher networking and infrastructure development.  Its goal is to increase the understanding of nanotechnology across the province.

Industrial Technology Centre – Manitoba 2

The Industrial Technology Centre (ITC) was established in 1979 and commenced operations as a Special Operating Agency (SOA) of the Province of Manitoba on April 1, 1996. ITC now operates under the authority of Manitoba Science, Technology, Energy & Mines (STEM).

ITC conducts a monthly Technology Watch on its website.  This is a collection of news relating to innovation in new and upcoming technologies.  It also includes an Events and Learning Opportunities section with seminars and courses in technology.  Nanotechnology is frequently mentioned in these on topics such as nanomaterials and composites, solar application, nanobiotechnology, etc.

ITC has a Social Technologies Technology Foresight program which conducted a focus study on technology, innovation, and business strategy.  The focus group consisted of prominent business, education, and technology organizations.  Results of this study indicated 12 areas for technology innovation through 2025. Among these 12 areas were the following:

  • Nanomaterials – inexpensive ways to produce mass quantities of nanomaterials; nanomaterials move from passive to active with nanoscale valves, switches, motors, etc.
  • Universal water – ultra-fine filters (i.e., nanofilters); new energy sources for desalination and purification, including hybrid systems combining conventional and alternative power (i.e., solar); smart water-use technologies for agriculture and industry

NanoQuébec 3

NanoQuébec, a not-for-profit corporation organization whose principal funding partners are MDEIE (Ministère du Développement économique, de l´Innovation et de l´Exportation) and the federal government through the Canada Economic Development.  It plays a central role in the structuring and planning efforts in nanotechnology in Québec.

NanoQuébec's mission is to strengthen innovation in nanotechnology in order to increase sustainable economic development for Quebec and Canada.

Since 2001, NanoQuébec has been providing significant financial support to build and promote the use of Quebec´s major nanotechnology infrastructure by the entire scientific and industrial community.  The province´s central key research facilities serve over 1,900 users, including nearly 250 industrial users, and are run by over 115 technicians and professionals.

Nanotechnology Network of Ontario 4

The aim of the Nanotechnology Network of Ontario (NaNO) is to increase the interactions between nanotechnology researchers in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine.

NaNO aims to:

  • Facilitate collaborations between complementary nanotechnology researchers
  • Enhance shared access to facilities and resources
  • Establish cross disciplinary opportunities for graduate and undergraduate nanotechnology
  • Identify opportunities for commercialization

 NaNO has several lists on their websites containing information on research institutions in Ontario, nanotechnology university programs (undergraduate and graduate), companies working in nanotechnology, and nanotechnology centres in Ontario.

[1] Nanotech BC.  http://www.nanotechbc.ca/.  August 2009.

[2] Industrial Technology Centre.  http://www.itc.mb.ca/.  August 2009.

[3] NanoQuébec.  http://nanoquebec.ca/nanoquebec_w/site/index.jsp.  August 2009.

[4] Nanotechnology Network of Ontario.  http://www.nanoontario.ca/.  August 2009.

Les Partisans

Nanotech BC1

Nanotech BC a actuellement suspendu ses opérations jusqu'à ce que le financement adéquat de ses activités et de nouveaux projets peut être établie.

Nanotech BC a trois mandats:

  • Avocat - Donner une voix pour la communauté en Colombie-Britannique nanotechnologies, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger.
  • Stimuler - Favoriser une communauté prospère nanotechnologie où le gouvernement, des universités etdes entreprises parties prenantes peuvent se rencontrer et se soutenir mutuellement.
  • Éduquer - Communiquer avec les secteurs industriels, universitaires et gouvernementaux ainsi qu'avec le public pour accroître la sensibilisation de la nanotechnologie et ce qu'elle signifie pour la Colombie-Britannique.

Pour ce faire, Nanotech BC collabore avec les organisations régionales, nationales et internationales. NanotechBC encourage et facilite la recherche d'entreprise ainsi que le réseautage des chercheurs et le développement des infrastructures. Son objectif est d'accroître la compréhension de la nanotechnologie dans toute la province.

Centre de technologie industrielle - Manitoba 2

Le Centre de technologie industrielle (CTI) a été créé en 1979 et a commencé ses activités comme un organisme de service spécial (OSS) de la province du Manitoba, le 1 avril 1996. ITC opère désormais sous l'autorité du Manitoba Science, Technologie, Énergie et des Mines (STEM).

ITC effectue un mensuel de veille technologique sur son site Internet. Il s'agit d'un recueil de nouvelles ayant trait à l'innovation dans les nouvelles technologies et à venir. Il comprend également un événement et la section Occasions d'apprentissage avec des séminaires et des cours de technologie. La nanotechnologie est souvent mentionné dans ces sur des sujets tels que les nanomatériaux et les matériaux composites, l'application solaire, nanobiotechnologies, etc

Le CCI a un programme social Technologies de prospective technologique qui a mené une étude sur la technologie, l'innovation et la stratégie d'entreprise. Le groupe de discussion composé d'affaires de premier plan, l'éducation, et les organisations de la technologie. Les résultats de cette étude ont indiqué 12 domaines d'innovation technologique à l'horizon 2025. Parmi ces 12 zones sont les suivantes:

  • Nanomatériaux - des moyens peu coûteux à produire des quantités de masse des nanomatériaux; nanomatériaux passer de la passivité à l'activité de soupapes échelle nanométrique, interrupteurs, moteurs, etc
  • Universal eau - filtres ultra-fine (c'est-à-nanofiltres); nouvelles sources d'énergie pour le dessalement et depurification, y compris les systèmes hybrides combinant l'énergie conventionnelles et alternatives (par exemple, l'énergie solaire); technologies intelligentes utilisation de l'eau pour l'agriculture et l'industrie

NanoQuébec 3

NanoQuébec, une association sans but lucratif dont les principaux partenaires de financement sont le MDEIE (ministère du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation) et le gouvernement fédéral par l'entremise de Développement économique Canada. Il joue un rôle central dans les efforts de structuration et de planification en matière de nanotechnologie au Québec.

NanoQuébec mission est de renforcer l'innovation en nanotechnologie en vue d'accroître le développement économique durable pour le Québec et le Canada.

Depuis 2001, NanoQuébec a fourni un soutien financier important de construire et de promouvoir l'utilisation du Québec en matière de nanotechnologies grandes infrastructures par toute la communauté scientifique et industrielle. centrale de la province des installations de recherche clés servent plus de 1.900 utilisateurs, dont près de 250 utilisateurs industriels, et sont gérés par plus de 115 techniciens et des professionnels.

Réseau nanotechnologie de l'Ontario 4

L'objectif du Réseau nanotechnologie de l'Ontario (nano) est d'accroître les interactions entre les chercheurs ennanotechnologie dans les domaines de la science, l'ingénierie et la médecine.

NaNO vise à:

  • Faciliter des collaborations entre les chercheurs en nanotechnologie complémentaires
  • Améliorer l'accès partagé à des installations et des ressources
  • Mettre sur pied des possibilités disciplinaire pour premier et deuxième cycles des nanotechnologies
  • Identifier les possibilités de commercialisation

NaNO a plusieurs listes sur leurs sites Web contenant des informations sur les institutions de recherche en Ontario, les programmes universitaires en nanotechnologie (premier et deuxième cycles), les entreprises travaillant dans les nanotechnologies, et des centres de nanotechnologie en Ontario.

[1] BC Nanotech. http://www.nanotechbc.ca/. Août 2009.

[2] Centre de technologie industrielle. http://www.itc.mb.ca/. Août 2009.

[3] NanoQuébec. http://nanoquebec.ca/nanoquebec_w/site/index.jsp. Août 2009.

[4] Réseau de la nanotechnologie de l'Ontario. http://www.nanoontario.ca/. Août 2009.