Federal Government Research

National Research Council

The National Research Council (NRC) is the Government of Canada's premier organization for research and development. It has been active since 1916.

National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT)

The National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT) is an integrated, multi-disciplinary institution involving researchers in physics, chemistry, biochemistry, engineering, biology, informatics, pharmacy and medicine. Established in 2001, it is operated as a partnership between the National Research Council and the University of Alberta, and is jointly funded by the Government of Canada, the Government of Alberta and the University of Alberta.

The focus of NINT's research program is integration – the combination of separate nano-scale devices and materials into complex nanosystems that are connected to the outside world. NINT explores the integration, at the molecular level, of nature's most powerful nano-devices such as proteins, lipids, and other biological structures made from 'soft' organic material, with crystalline semiconductors, metals, and catalysts made from inorganic 'hard' materials.

Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) seeks to enhance the responsible development and use of Canada’s natural resources and the competitiveness of Canada’s natural resource products. We are an established leader in science and technology in the fields of energy, forests and minerals and metals, and we use our expertise in earth sciences to build and maintain an up-to-date knowledge base of our landmass.

NRCan develops policies and programs that enhance the contribution of the natural resource sectors to the economy and improve the quality of life for all Canadians. As well, the department conducts innovative science in facilities across Canada to generate ideas and transfer technologies. It also represents Canada at the international level to meet the country's global commitments related to the sustainable development of natural resources, resource management policies and product standards. As part of its mandate, NRCan has supported industry research institutes and undertaken significant in-house research on nanotechnology in both the forestry and minerals and metals sectors, mainly on emerging, advanced chemicals and materials.

Through NRCan's Transformative Technologies Research Program, FPInnovations-- the hub of the forest sector innovation system in Canada--has developed and patented a process to economically extract cellulose nanocrystals (CNC) from wood. CNC is then processed into dry, solid flakes, films and gels for use in biocomposites, bioplastics, iridescent coatings, wear-resistant surface treatments, high strength materials, drug delivery, oil and gas specialty chemicals, and more.

Through the Emerging Materials Program at the CANMET Materials Technology Laboratory, processes and technologies are developed for eco materials, such as photocatalysts to address the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and air pollutants and defence materials, such as armour material for defence applications.

CANMET Materials Technology Laboratory - Emerging Materials Research Program
CanmetENERGY.  http://canmetenergy-canmetenergie.nrcan-rncan.gc.ca/eng/

Recherche de l'administration Fédérale

Conseil national de recherches Canada

Le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) est le premier organisme du gouvernement du Canada dédié à la recherche et au développement. Il est actif depuis 1916.

Institut national de nanotechnologie (INN)

L'Institut national de nanotechnologie (INN) est une société intégrée, une institution pluridisciplinaire qui réunit des chercheurs en physique, chimie, biochimie, ingénierie, biologie, informatique, pharmacie et en médecine. Fondée en 2001, elle est exploitée comme un partenariat entre le Conseil national de recherches et de l'University of Alberta, et est financée conjointement par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de l'Alberta et l'University of Alberta.

L'objectif du programme de recherche de l'INN est l'intégration - la combinaison visant à séparer les dispositifs et les matériaux à l'échelle nanométrique en nanosystèmes complexes reliés au monde extérieur. L'INN explore l'intégration, au niveau moléculaire, de la plupart des nanodispositifs les plus puissants de la nature, tels que des protéines, des lipides, et d'autres structures biologiques faites de matières organiques « douces », de semi-conducteurs cristallins, de métaux et de catalyseurs à base de matières inorganiques « dures ».

Ressources naturelles Canada

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) cherche à renforcer l’exploitation responsable des ressources naturelles du Canada et la compétitivité des produits tirés des ressources naturelles du pays. Le Ministère est un chef de file reconnu dans les domaines de l’énergie, des forêts et des minéraux et métaux. Il utilise aussi son expertise dans le domaine des sciences de la Terre afin de bâtir et de tenir à jour une base de connaissances sur la masse continentale du Canada.

RNCan élabore des politiques et des programmes qui renforcent la contribution des secteurs des ressources naturelles à l’économie et améliorent la qualité de vie de tous les Canadiens. Le Ministère dirige également des travaux scientifiques innovateurs dans tous les coins du pays pour stimuler les idées et le transfert de technologies. Il défend aussi les intérêts internationaux du Canada et aide le pays à s’acquitter de ses obligations internationales à l’égard du développement durable des ressources naturelles, des politiques de gestion des ressources et de la normalisation des produits.Dans le cadre de son mandat, RNCan a appuyé les établissements de recherche de l’industrie et a entrepris d’importants travaux de recherche à l’interne portant sur la nanotechnologie du secteur de la foresterie et du secteur des minéraux et des métaux, surtout dans le domaine des nouveaux produits chimiques de pointe et des matériaux.

Par l'intermédiaire du Programme de recherche sur les technologies transformatrices de RNCan, PFInnovations -- le foyer du système d’innovation du secteur forestier du Canada -- a mis au point et a breveté un procédé pour extraire économiquement des nanocristaux de cellulose (NCC) du bois. Les NCC sont ensuite transformés en flocons solides et sèches, en pellicules ou gels utilisés dans la fabrication de biocomposites, de bioplastiques, de revêtements iridescents, de traitements de surface résistante à l'eau, de matériaux à haute résistance, de systèmes de libération de médicaments, de produits chimiques spécialisés du pétrole et du gaz et plus encore.

Grâce au Programme des nouveaux matériaux du Laboratoire de la technologie des matériaux de CANMET, RNCan développe des procédés et des techniques s’appliquant aux écomatériaux, comme les photocatalyseurs qui luttent contre les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et les polluants atmosphériques, et aux matériaux utilisés à des fins de défense, comme le matériau de blindage.

Laboratoire de la technologie des matériaux de CANMET (LTM-CANMET) - Programme de recherche sur les matériaux de pointe
CanmetÉNERG1E. http://can metenergy-can metenergie. nrca n-rnca n.gc.ca/fra/index.html.